Archive for the ‘Irish Lacrosse League’ Category

The Lax Hostel ( caught up with Ireland international midfielders John “JROCK” O’Connor and Martin “Bonagee” Scanlon at the recent tryouts for the men’s and women’s squads to represent Ireland in the 2012 European Lacrosse Championships. The tryouts were held at University College Dublin (UCD) in Dublin, Ireland.
JROCK and Bonagee have have represented Ireland internationally in the 2009 Celtic Cup in Edingburgh, Scotland, and the 2010 World Field Lacrosse Championships in Manchester, England. John also represented Ireland in the 2008 European Championships in Lahti, Finland. In addition to their international play, they both have have represented the UCD club team, the Irish Lacrosse League (ILL all-stars), and the F-U-N Dublin Bay Prawns. John currently plays in the Netherlands for the Groningen Gladiators. He feeds baby seals in his free time. We don’t know what Bonagee does with his free time.

The race for the 2011-2012 Irish Lacrosse League (ILL) title got off to a thrilling start this past weekend at St. Anne’s Park, Clontarf.

The first match of the day saw two-time defending ILL Champions and 2011 ILL representative at this year’s European Lacrosse Club Championships; UCD take on the experienced Dublin Lacrosse club in a great game of lacrosse. It was a hotly contested match which, resulted in a 3-3 draw.

The next game up was the 2011 Newtownards Cup holders; the Dublin Bay Prawns taking on a massively improved NUI Galway team. The Galway team was slow to get out of the blocks and fell behind early. The Prawns would pour on the pressure and in comfortable fashion the Prawns, won with a score of 5-0.

The third game of the day was between last year’s Ard’s Cup finalists Dublin vs the Prawns. The Prawns riding high after an emphatic win over Galway were slammed back to earth in a solid team effort by the Dublin Lacrosse Club. Dublin doubled up on the Prawns winning 6-3 to take 6 points from the game day while the Prawns would sit in second on 5 after earning a bonus point in the loss.

In the final game of the day, Galway bounced back and recorded a 3-3 draw with favoured UCD.

The day’s results serves as a reminder of just how tight this season of the ILL may serve to be.

This weekend also saw the clubs of the women’s ILL host a team from Dusseldorf (Germany ) for a weekend of games. A three team tournament with UCD, Dusseldorf and a Dublin-Galway combination played a round robin on Saturday along with intermittent rookie’s games. The Dublin-Galway team emerged as victors with a 2-0 record.

Other upcoming events involving the Irish Lacrosse League and it’s member teams:

* October 21st and 22nd – European Club Lacrosse Championships, Hamburg, Germany. UCD will represent the ILL in this 8 team tournament with all of the league champions from around the continent.

* October 27th-29th – Selection Camps for Ireland’s 2012 Men’s and Women’s National Teams.

* November 12th – ILL Gameday. The second gameday will be held at the NUI Galway sports complex. More details to follow soon!

2010-2011 ILL Men’s Champions – UCD awarded the Richie Moran Cup

2011 ILL Newtownards Cup Champions – Dublin Bay Prawns The Newtownard’s Cupis named after the town of Newtownards, County Down, which apparently was the first town in Ireland to have a lacrosse team in 1872 (source:  “Lacrosse, as a game, received a footing in the county in 1872. Newtownards was the first town in Ireland to succumb to its allurements. Clubs have since been established at Bangor, Bloomfield, and recently at Newry.” (from Bassett’s County Down Guide and Directory, 1886 by George Henry Bassett).

2011 ILL Men’s Offensive MVP: Sean Gibson, Dublin Lacrosse
2011 ILL Men’s Defensive MVP: Kevin “Moffat” Quinn, Dublin Bay Prawns
2011 ILL Men’s Rookie of the Year: Gareth Kavanagh, UCD Lacrosse

2011 ILL Women’s Defensive MVP (women): Rachel Blake, UCD Lacrosse
2011 ILL Women’s Offensive MVP (women): Katelin Billups, Dublin Lacrosse
2011 ILL Women’s Most Improved Player (women): Aisling Casey, UCD Lacrosse

In 2011, there was no ILL Women’s Champion – Jimmy Carroll Cup awarded.  This is because the women’s championship is disputed – there were 5 ILL Gamedays, 2 of which were in Dublin, 3 outside of Dublin.

Congratulations to all, and we look forward to the 2011-2012 Irish Lacrosse League!